Aliartos is located in the centre of Viotia, οn the old national road from Athens to Lamia. According to the tradition, the town was built by Aliartos, the son of Thetis and of the king of Thebes Thersandros.  The existence of the city is mentioned by Homer in Iliad. The city was rich because of its location (between Orhomenos and Thebes) and its fertile flat. In the second half of the 6th century b.C. the city introduced silver coins. According to the myth, the seer Tejresias, as well as Alkmini, Hercules mother are buried in Aliartos.
Ancient Aliartos was destroyed from the Persian king Xerxes in 480 b.C., at the duration of the Persian wars. After the retirement of the Persians, the town was reconstructed and became a member of the “Public of Beotia”. The town was finally destroyed the 171 b.C. from the Romans, because of the alliance between the city and the Macedonian king Perseas against them.

There are not lots of elements for the Byzantine Aliartos, however the remnant walls of Byzantine years testify that the city was powerful and well organised. Newer Aliartos was related to the effort of the desiccation of the lake Copais. The English company "Lake Copais Co Ltd" installed in the area, drained the lake partially from 1887 to 1953.
In the beginning of the 20th century, Aliartos constituted a transport and conjunctive node of Livadeia with Thebes, Athens and the Piraeus harbour. Those days, a first form of private enterprise (cycle mills, grating sheds etc) appeared. The mills, where grind the production of the cultivation of the drained lake, were necessary for the economy of the city. In 1941, the total production of wheat that milled was 10.000.000 oka (1 oka=1280 grams) and saved Athens. In this period, there was also an increase of the population of Aliartos.  

Nowadays Aliartos is a town of about 6.300 residents and a cotton production centre of the prefecture. Important settlements of the region are Krimpas (centre), Mazi, Moulki, the settlement of Evritans, Malaki and the park with the English houses.

After Aliartos, there is the village Petra known from the homonym battle that took place in 1829. Dimitrios Ypsilantis was the leader. In the battle, Ypsilantis forced the Turkish to capitulate and to vacate the region up to Lamia. The picturesque village of Evaggelistria, with the known homonym monastery, (which played an important role at the Byzantine years and after), belongs to the municipality of Aliartos.


The ancient town of Aliartos.
The Acropolis is found near the modern town. The ruins testify various building periods. The Mycenean Acropolis is located on the top of the hill, while in the western side of the hill, newer buildings of the 7th century b.C., as well as an entry of the 4th century b.C, are saved. The ruins of the two towers of the end of the 6th (or the beginning of the 5th century b.C) are saved in the south and south-east. At the top of the Acropolis, the temple of Athena, of the 6th century b.C., surrounded by fortification grounds, was revealed. Foundations of an older temple (7th century b.C.) are also saved along the north wall. Apart from the ruins of the Acropolis, parts of the wall, as well as traces of the theatre are saved too. In this place a lot of currencies of the 550- 500 b.C. were also found, with the shield of Viotia engraved. In the south-east of the Acropolis, a cemetery of the Romans period has come to the light.

Industrial buildings of the19th century, which were used by the company "Lake Copais Co Ltd», are saved in the location "Gardens of Aliartos". These buildings, were the places of residence and administrative services of the English employees. In the area, there were also a hydroelectric factory and two watermills.
In the centre of Aliartos the visitor can see the renovated stone-built storehouses of rural products.

Monastery of Evaggelistria.
The Monastery is12 kilometres far from Aliartos and is dated the 12th or 13th century. In the Monastery, there is a small library, a studio of textile and a congress centre. The Monastery is built in an idyllic landscape where the visitor can admire the nature and the architecture and live some moments of meditation. It was built during the Golden Age of the Byzantine Empire and was renovated in 1665. During the Ottoman domination there was a secret Greek school in the Monastery. During the Second World War the monks helped the Greeks (and their allies) hiding them in a crypt. Nowadays the Monastery is a woman's monastery. In the Monastery, the chapel of Aghios Georgios, a building of 1800, is also found.


In the Community of Petra, there is a natural waterfall of unique beauty that dominates in the landscape. In the northern side of Aliartos a fertile flat is extended, derived from the desiccation of Copais. Near the village Evaggelisria, the visitors can find the beautiful locality Haliki where they can enjoy the beauty of the nature. There is a spring there, supposed to be the spring Hippokrini.
Useful Information


On May 21, the day of Aghios Konstantinos and Heleni, a big feast is taking place in Aliartos.
Every August the “Kopaidika” are organised in the area, cultural events that have been organized for thirty years. The events include theatrical spectacles, traditional dances, concerts and expositions. Every year in “Kopaidika”, there is a different subject to present. The last year the theme presented was related to the environment.



In Aliartos and Evaggelistria the visitors can find a lot of taverns, restaurants, cafes and bars. There are also rooms to let, lodgings and hotels. In the Monastery of Evaggelistria there is a congress centre, a library and a studio of textile.


Useful telephone numbers
Municipality of Aliartos 22680-22922
Health Centre of Aliartos 22680-22222
Pharmacy 22680-22287
Police Department 22680-22244
Telecom 22680-22399
Post Office 22680-22441
Bus service 22680-22223
< Prev   Next >

© 2007 Epimelitirio Viotias